When You Leave the Kid Behind

Meet me in hallway

Not in the halls

The past lies there

The washrooms sing of the hopes

The canteen is where I would boast

Meet in the hallway

Halfway through

Where walking the distance made me humble

Meet me at the staff room

Where I was not afraid

Run with me at the sports

Where all sadness would abort

See me in that way

Through those hopes

You change me 

I am still that kid

Just waiting to be found

but when

In ways of world I didn’t see the truth

Confounded more than the books

I will have to rewrite the bits

And then maybe I will be fit

Will have to leave the kid behind

Even if you search me then you will not find.

Leave a Reply

